Three Kerala scribes among Press Council awardees

Friday, Nov 7, 2014,20:23 IST By metrovaartha A A A

New Delhi | A total of eleven journalists and four photo journalists were chosen by the Press Council of India (PCI) today for ‘National Awards for Excellence in Journalism’. In the category ‘Rural Jouranlism’, the chosen awardees are Corenlius Minz of Khabar Mantra, Jhakhand, and R Samban of Deshabhimani, Malappuram.
The two journalists will jointly get the award which also carries a cash prize of Rs 25,000 each, officials said.  The certificate of creative excellence with a cash award of Rs 12,500 each would also be jointly shared by M Shajil Kumar of Malayala Manorama and Uttam Sengupta of Outlook.
In the Developmental Reporting category, the award will go to Kumar Sambhav Shrivastava of ‘Down to Earth’. It carries a cash prize of Rs 50,000. The certificate of creative excellence in this category will be jointly shared by Rahi Gaikwad of The Hindu and Neha Bhatt of Outlook with cash prize of Rs 12,5000 each. In the Stree Shakti category, the award (Rs 50,000) will go to Priyadarshani Sen of ‘Outlook’ and certificate of creative excellence (Rs 25,000) to Davis Paynadath of Deepika Daily, Kerala.
The award in photo journalism (single news picture) category will go to Neeraj Priyadarshi of the Indian Express (Rs 50,000) and Kamal Kishore of PTI in certificate of creative excellence (Rs 25,000). In photo journalism category (photo feature), the award (RS 50,000) will be received by Piyal Adhikary of Europan Pressphoto Agency.
Ravi Kanojia of the Indian Express has been chosen for certificate of creative excellence (Rs 25,000). In Urdu journalism category, the award (cash prize of Rs 25,000 each) will be shared by Wasimul Haque of The Daily Akhbare-E-Mashriq, Delhi, and Muhammad Atif of Sahafat, Delhi.