Parrikar, Prabhu inducted into Union Cabinet, 21 new faces

Sunday, Nov 9, 2014,22:14 IST By metro vaartha A A A

New Delhi | Former Goa Chief Minister Manohar Parrikar and former Shiv Sainik Suresh Prabhu were today inducted into the Union Cabinet as 21 new faces joined the Union Council of Ministers but Shiv Sena stuck a jarring note refusing BJP’s offer of just a Minister of State post. The alreadystrained BJPSena ties further dipped today when Prabhu, Power minister in Vajpayee government, joined BJP this morning to take oath as a Cabinet minister along with senior BJP leader J P Nadda and Jat leader from Haryana Birender Singh, who joined BJP ahead of recent Assembly elections. This is the first expansion of his ministry by Prime Minister Narendra Modi since he assumed power in May. Parrikar is all set to be given Defence portfolio, which is held as additional charge by Finance Minister Arun Jaitley. Sena’s Rajya Sabha member, Anil Desai, who was tipped to become a minister, was ordered to return to Mumbai from the airport here just hours before the swearing in ceremony at the Rashtrapati Bhavan, which said he was not available for the purpose. Against Sena’s demand for two more Cabinet berths, the party was reportedly told by BJP President Amit Shah that only one post of the Minister of State was possible for Desai. Sena chief Uddhav Thackeray then decided to call it off. The party is also said to be planning to withdraw Anant Geete, Heavy Industry Minister, from the Modi government and sit in the opposition in Maharashtra Assembly.
Bandaru Dattatreya and Rajiv Pratap Rudy, who were ministers in Vajpayee government, and Mahesh Sharma, newlyelected MP from Gautam Buddh Nagar bordering Delhi, were swornin as Ministers of State with Independent Charge. 14 other Ministers of State were swornin. They are Mukhtar Abbas Naqvi, Ram Kripal Yadav, Haribhai Parthibhai Chaudhary, Sanwar Lal Jat and Mohanbhai Kalyanjibhai Kundariya Giriraj Singh, Hansraj Ahir, Ram Shankar Katheria, Jayant Sinha, Rajyavardhan Singh Rathore, Babul Supriyo, Sadhvi Niranjan Jyoti and Vijay Sampla (all BJP) and Y S Chowdary, a Rajya Sabha member from TDP. Significantly, Naqvi, BJP Vice President and a minister in the Vajpayee government, was only made a Minister of State, and Rudy became MoS with Independent Charge but eyebrows went up when Mahesh Sharma, a first time member of Lok Sabha, was made Minister of State with Independent Charge. Ahir was rewarded for his relentless campaign as a whistleblower in the coal block allocation scam. Among those rewarded with ministerial berths were Giriraj Singh, Lok Sabha member from Bihar who had made a controversial statement that the place for Muslims who do not like Modi is in Pakistan and Ram Kripal Yadav, a former RJD leader who defeated Lalu Prasad’s daughter in Patliputra on BJP ticket. The induction of Rudy, who defeated Lalu’s wife Rabri Devi in Saran, Giriraj Singh and Yadav is seen as an attempt to woo various caste groups in Bihar which will go to Assembly polls next year.
The strength of the Union Council of Ministers goes up from 45 to 66. Of this, 27 including the Prime Minister are of Cabinet rank, 13 Ministers of State with Independent Charge and 26 Ministers of State. The swearingin ceremony was attended among others by Vice President Hamid Ansari, Lok Sabha Speaker Sumitra Mahajan, Rajya Sabha Deputy Chairperson P J Kurien, Modi and his Cabinet colleagues, BJP President Amit Shah and L K Advani. Chief Ministers of BJPruled states Vasundhara Raje, Raman Singh, Devendra Fadnavis and Manohar Lal Khattar and Andhra Pradesh Chief Minister Chandrababu Naidu of TDP were also present while none from Congress attended the ceremony. Ahead of the swearingin, the new ministers had a breakfast meeting with Modi at his Race Course residence. An IIT graduate, 58yearold Parrikar shares an excellent rapport with Modi and has a reputation for probity and administrative skills. Prabhu also earned his reputation as a skillful operator and reformer as Power minister in Vajpayee government but was suddenly pulled out of the ministry by Shiv Sena. Ever since has has not been seen as an active Sainik. Dattatreya’s inclusion gives representation to the new Telangana state in the Union ministry while Rudy makes a comeback into the government. All the other Ministers of State are newcomers and firsttime MPs except Naqvi, Rudy and Yadav, who had been a Member of Parliament either of the Lok Sabha or Rajya Sabha.

President Pranab Mukherjee administers oath to new Cabinet Ministers Manohar Parrikar, Suresh Prabhu, JP Nadda and Birender Singh at the swearing-in ceremony at Rashtrapati Bhavan in New Delhi on Sunday.

President Pranab Mukherjee administers oath to new Cabinet Ministers Manohar Parrikar, Suresh Prabhu, JP Nadda and Birender Singh at the swearing-in ceremony at Rashtrapati Bhavan in New Delhi on Sunday.

Latest News
Saturday, Oct 22 , 2016 ,14:32 IST
Mobile phones banned from Cabinet meetings
Saturday, Oct 22 , 2016 ,11:23 IST
Trump is ‘threatening’ US democracy: Clinton
Saturday, Oct 22 , 2016 ,11:13 IST
A Clinton win would result in spread of ISIS: Trump