EC notices to 20 parties for failure to file poll expenses

Friday, Nov 28, 2014,21:13 IST By metrovaartha A A A

New Delhi | The Election Commission (EC) today issued showcause notices to 20 political parties including Congress and BJP over failure to file poll expense statements on time and warned them of derocognition if it is not done within a fortnight. Final opportunity is being given hereby to comply with the instructions of the Commission, for filing the said expenditure statement within a fortnight from date of receipt of this letter.
Your attention is invited to para 16A of the Election Commission’s Symbols (Reservation and Allotment) Order 1968 which envisages action against violations of lawful instructions of the Commission, the EC said in its communication to the parties.
The defaulting parties who were issued the notices, both recognised and unrecognised, include the Congress, BJP, TRS, Samajwadi Party, Aam Aadmi Party (AAP), Haryana Janhit Congress (BL), Zoram Nationalist Party, Hill State People’s Democratic Party, United Democratic Party, National People’s Party, People’s Democratic Alliance, Manipur State Congress Party, Kerala Congress (M), Karnataka Jantha Paksha, Jharkhand Mukti Morcha, People’s Party of Arunachal, Asom Gana Parishad, Maharashtrawadi Gomantak Party, Revolutionary Socialist Party and All India N R Congress.
According to rules, as stipulated by a Supreme Court order, political parties are required to file their election expenditure statements within 75 days of Assembly elections and the deadline is 90 days in case of Lok Sabha polls.
A number of parties which have been issued notices by the poll panel, sources said, have defualted in filing the poll expense details of their parties for the Lok Sabha polls held early this year. The EC had last written to these parties on October 22.