Jharkhand seen 9 govts, three spells of Prez rule in 14 years

Tuesday, Dec 23, 2014,20:22 IST By metrovaartha A A A

Ranchi | Jharkhand, which appeared to be finally headed towards electing a stable government this time, has seen nine different governments–none of which could complete its term–in the last 14 years since the formation of the tribal-dominated state in 2000.
The BJP was all set to form the government in Jharkhand in coalition with ally AJS as votes in the assembly elections were counted today.
In between the reigns of the parties in power, the mineral-rich state, which has gone through bouts of instability, has also been under President’s Rule thrice.
Since Jharkhand’s creation in 2000, when it was carved out from the hilly southern districts of Bihar, five people have served as the state’s chief minister, across three assembly terms.
Two each belong to the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and the Jharkhand Mukti Morcha (JMM), and one independent (Madhu Koda).
While the BJP’s Babulal Marandi was the first Chief Minister, his party colleague Arjun Munda is the longest-serving being at the helm for over five years, across three terms.
Shibu Soren of the JMM was also the Chief Minister thrice across three terms. One of his tenures lasted only 11 days following his failure to obtain a vote of confidence in the state assembly.
His son Hemant Soren is the incumbent chief minister, after he was sworn on July 13 2013.
Following are the list of the Chief Ministers and details about President’s rule.
1) Babulal Marandi(BJP)–November 15, 2000 to March 17, 2003.
2) Arjun Munda(BJP)–March 18, 2003 to March 2, 2005.
3) Shibu Soren(JMM)–March 2, 2005 to March 12, 2005.
4) Arjun Munda(BJP)–March 12, 2005 to September 14, 2006.  5) Madhu Koda(Independent)–September 14, 2006 to August 23, 2008
6) Shibu Soren–August 27, 2008 to January 18, 2009.
7) President’s rule from January 19, 2009 to December 29, 2009.
8) Shibu Soren–December 30, 2009 to May 31, 2010.
9) President’s rule from June 1, 2010 to September 11, 2010.
10) Arjun Munda–September 11, 2010 to January 18, 2013.
11) President’s rule–January 18, 2013 to July 12, 2013
12) Hemant Soren (JMM)– From July 2013.

Latest News

Sensex hits 35,000 mark as IT stocks lead gains

Wednesday, Jan 17 , 2018 ,11:13 IST