Sreekant Bhasi receives maiden NIB award

Sunday, Feb 22, 2015,18:38 IST By metro vaartha A A A

Kochi | The premiere NIB award named ‘Business icon of the year-2015′ has been presented to Carnival group chairman Sreekant Bhasi by Kerala chief minister Oommen Chandy at a colorful function held at hotel Taj Gateway on Saturday night. The maiden award initiated jointly by Ernakulam Press Club and Public Relations Council of India (PRCI), Kerala Chapter was shared between Sreekant Bhasi and Dr M Ayyappan, Chairman & MD of public sector major HLL Life Care Limited.
Famous NRI entrepreneur Padmashree C K Menon (Chairman and MD Behzad Group of Companies, Middle East) received the maiden Global Business Leadership Award from the chief minister. Apart from Media and PR, NIB awards were given for House Journals, Newsletters and E-magazines at the national level.
The Promising Entrepreneur of the year award was given away to K Muralidharan (MD, SFC Group), while the Effective PR Manager of the year award went to George Thomas (Chief Manager, Bharat Petroleum Corporation – KRL).
Federal Bank was chosen for the best Corporate Brand of the Year and the NGO Par Excellence of the year award presented to Janaseva Shishu Bhavan, Alwaye.
There were special awards in the Media Print and Visual category for Best Investigative Report, Best Sports Report, Best Interview, Political Satire and Photography- Videography. For House Journals, Newsletter and e-magazine there were awards for best design, content, concept and photography categories.
Apart from the Chief Minister the award ceremony was graced by Fisheries and Excise Minister K Babu, K V Thomas MP, Hibi Eden MLA, Deputy Mayor of Cochin corporation B Bhadra and PRCI Chairman Emeritus M B Jayaram would also present on that occasssion.
All the awards were given away by the chief minister himself. Addressing the gathering the chief minister said never should we hesitate to recognise such people who contribute to the states socio-economic development. He expected the awardees social commitment to continue to be present.
Ernakulam Press Club President K Ravikumar and Secretary Unnikrishnan also spoke at the function. According to Unnikrishnan the instituition of the awards mark another stepping stone towards the upcoming celebrations of the 50th anniversary of the foundation of the first press club in the country, two years ahead.

The winners of the PR awards with chief minister Oommen Chandy and other dignitaries.

The winners of the PR awards with chief minister Oommen Chandy and other dignitaries.

Latest News