MPs of oppn parties to take out march against land bill

Friday, Mar 13, 2015,18:53 IST By metrovaartha A A A

New Delhi | Stepping up campaign against the controversial land bill, MPs from opposition parties will take out a march to Rashtrapati Bhavan next Tuesday to register their protest against the amendments proposed to be carried out in the Act of 2013.
Eight parties — Congress, Trinamool Congress, Samajwadi Party, DMK, JD(U), CPI(M), CPI and Kerala Congress (M) — have so far confirmed their participation in the march, sources said here today.
Efforts are being made to rope in some other parties as well and JD(U) chief Sharad Yadav is coordinating in this endeavour, they said.
There is a possibility of Congress President Sonia Gandhi also taking part in the march from Parliament to the Rashtrapati Bhavan, a distance of about one km, the sources said.
It is a march of non-NDA MPs to the Rashtrapati Bhavan… Sharad Yadav is coordinating, a source said.
Though it is supposed to be a march of MPs only, there is a likelihood of West Bengal Chief Minister and Trinamool Congress leader Mamata Banerjee also joining in as her party is playing a key role in scuttling efforts to amend the Land Acquisition Act of 2013.
The land bill was passed by Lok Sabha three days back after the government carried out nine amendments and persuaded most of its allies to support it.
It set the stage for consideration of the bill in Rajya Sabha where the numbers are loaded against the BJP-led dispensation.
Congress, Trinamool Congress, Samajwadi Party, RJD and BJD had walked out of the House, while NDA ally Shiv Sena abstained as the Right to Fair Compensation and Transparency in Land Acquisition, Rehabilitation and Resettlement (Amendment) Bill 2015 was passed by voice vote.