Trinamool Congress’ supremacy continues in Bengal elections

Tuesday, Apr 28, 2015,22:14 IST By metrovaartha A A A

Kolkata | Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee led Trinamool Congress continued its winning streak as the party overwhelmingly won 71 of the 92 civic bodies, including the Kolkata Municipal Corporation (KMC), as counting of votes for the April 18 and 25 elections progressed.
However, the TMC lost its foothold in the Siliguri Municipal Corporation (SMC) as the Left Front, headed by the CPI(M), won 23 seats in the 47-member house. Though not a single party won majority, former municipal affairs minister and CPI(M) leader Asok Bhattacharya said they will form the board. Mr Bhattacharya won from Ward No 6.
The remaining seats went to ruling TMC (17), Congress (4), BJP (2) and one seat went to TMC rebel independent candidate Arabinda Ghosh.
As of now the TMC has won 71 civic bodies, Congress and Left Front 5 each and nine bodies remain hung.
In the 144-member KMC the TMC won 113 seats, a gain of 18 seats from the 2010 elections, LF  16, BJP 7, gaining five. Three seats went to independents.
Ms Banerjee, while congratulating the people for keeping faith in the party, said there will be no victory celebration owing to the earthquakes in Nepal and India.
Meanwhile, the Left parties and BJP have separately called a Bengal bandh on April 30 to protest against the alleged large-scale of rigging in the civic bodies polls.
KMC Mayor Shovan Chatterjee retained ward No 131 in Behala by 5530 votes. The massive victory for TMC comes ahead of the 2016 Assembly polls. The party has been a winner in all forms electoral battles in the state since the 2009  parliament elections.