Politicians beat jounralists in celebrity JVL

Saturday, May 9, 2015,21:15 IST By metrovaartha A A A

Kannur | Agriculture Minister K P Mohanan led Politicians team beat District Collector P Balakiran led Journalists team (2-1) in the celebrity encounter played last night as part of the second edition of Journalist Volleyball League (JVL), organised by Kannur press club at Municipal Jawahar flood lit stadium, here.
In the first set, Congress (S) State president Ramachandran Kadanappally’s brilliant serve and CPI District Secretary and former AIYF National President P Santhosh Kumar placing helped them to finish 25-16, while in the second set Jounralist team came back to the game with the help of District Collector placing and smashes of Biju Paravath of Mathrubhumi (9-25).
In the last keenly contest set Politicians team wrest the game by 26-24. CPI State Assistant secretary C N Chandran, DCC president K Surendran, KSU (S) State President Raneesh Mathew, District Sports Council president O K Vineesh played for Politiicans team, while District Collector P Balakiran played to Journalist team as an invitee.
In the inaugural JVM match, Hosts Kannur Press club defeated Thiruvananathapuram press club by straight set 3-0 (25-19,25-11,25-10) and Kozhikode press club beat Thiruvananathapuram Kesari.
Minister for Rural Development and Planning K C Joseph inaugurated the JVL on May 8. In another celebrity matches played on inaugural day Police officers team led by DIG Dinendra Kashyap led team defeated Villian’s cine star  team led by Abu Saleem and Sphadikam George team by straight sets.