16 in fray for Aruvikkara by-poll

Saturday, Jun 13, 2015,17:05 IST By metrovaartha A A A

Thiruvananthapuram | Sixteen candidates are in the fray in Aruvikkara for the June 27 by-elections when the deadline for withrawal of nomination papers came to a close today.
The by-poll became necessary following the death of Assembly Speaker G Karthikeyan. Congress nominee and Mr Karthikeyan’s son K S Sabarinath, Left Democratic Front Candidate M Vijayakumar and BJP’s O Rajagopal are the main candidates.
With leaders of major political parties, including Chief Minister Oommen Chandy and Leader of the Opposition V S Achuthanandan, reaching the constituency, campaigning gathered momentum in the past one week. National leaders of political parties are also expected next week as the by-poll is considered crucial for the Oommen Chandy Government that survives only on a wafer-thin majority.