Jawahar Thayankari wins boat race title

Saturday, Aug 8, 2015,20:05 IST By metrovaartha A A A

Alappuzha | Vembanad Boat Club’s ‘Jawahar Thayankari’ today won the Nehru Trophy in a nail-biting finish at the famed 63rd snake-boat race at the Punnamada Lake in this district of Kerala this evening.
It was the fifth time that the Thayankari won the title. Its captain Jameskutty Jacob received the trophy from Union Transport Minister Nitin Gadkari.
Sixteen snake boats and more than 63 traditional boats took part in various events.
Mahdevikkadu Thekkethil Chundan finished second and Sree Ganesh came third in the competition. Thousands of fans gathered on the shores of the Punnamada Lake to cheer their teams.
The history of the event dates to 1952, when then prime minister Jawaharlal Nehru visited the state. An impromptu race was conducted in his honour and, thrilled by the performance of the oarsmen, Nehru jumped into a snake boat.
On returning to Delhi, he donated a silver trophy, a replica of a snake boat placed on a wooden abacus with an inscription and his signature. This trophy is awarded to the winner of the snake boat category.