3,000 artistes to participate in Onam cultural pageantry

Saturday, Aug 29, 2015,22:33 IST By metrovaartha A A A

Thiruvananthapuram | About 3,000 artists will participate in a colourful cultural pageantry marking the conclusion of this year’s Onam Week celebrations in Kerala capital on August 31.
The procession, organised by Kerala’s Tourism department, will feature elements from  famed Thrissur Pooram,  the grand aarattu of Padmanabhswamy temple deity here among other items of culture and festivity from across God’s Own Country, highlighting its richness in the fields of traditional percussion, music and dance.
The show will also showcase art forms from other parts of India as well as certain foreign countries.
A chenda melam, involving 100 artistes, propped by the ornate alavattam fans and gorgeous fly-whisks (venchamaram), will lead the show, which will have 100-plus women and men carrying regal parasols. With around 40 ethnic chenda drums and kompu horns to their accompaniment, the ritualistic Velakali war-dance will add flavour to the show that will be flagged-off by Kerala Governor Justice P Sathasivam from a special pavilion off Manaveeyam Road near Keltron Junction.
‘There will be more tableaus this time; in fact around 100. The total number of art-forms at the pageantry will be 150,’ state Tourism Minister A P Anilkumar said today.
Talking to newspersons here, Mr Anilkumar said  ‘We plan to make this event a particularly memorable one.’
There will be prizes announced for the floats: Rs 1,00,000 for the first, Rs 50,000 for the second and Rs 25,000 for the third, according to Varkala Kahar, MLA, who is the pageantry chairman. The tableaus will mostly focus on current issues such as organic farming and organ donation.
Union Transport Minister Nitin Gadkari will distribute the prizes on August 31 at the valedictory ceremony in the city.  Prominent dignitaries at the function will be Kerala Health Minister  V S Sivakumar, Mr Shashi Tharoor, MP, Mr K Muraleedharan, MLA and Thiruvananthapuram Mayor  K Chandrika, besides Mr Anilkumar and Mr Kahar.