One Keralite and one Bengali women among Haj pilgrims killed in Mecca Mosque accident

Saturday, Sep 12, 2015,14:14 IST By metrovaartha A A A

Jeddah | Two Indian women Haj pilgrims were killed and 19 others injured when a massive construction crane crashed into Mecca’s Grand Mosque, officials said today. A total of 107 people were killed when a huge red crane collapsed into a part of the Grand Mosque filled with worshippers last evening, less than two weeks before the annual pilgrimage.
The deceased pilgrims have been identified as Moniza Ahmed from West Bengal and Muameena Ismail from Kerala, the Indian Consulate here said. Among the injured are three each from Maharashtra, Telangana, UP and MP, two each from Delhi and West Bengal, and one each from Punjab, Bihar and Assam, it added.
There is no report of any pilgrims being in critical condition, the consulate said. Regrettably we have been informed that 2 Indians have been killed in the unfortunate accident, External Affairs Ministry Spokesperson Vikas Swarup said in New Delhi. Swarup said the officials from the Indian Consulate in Jeddah have been on the ground and have set up a 24X7 helpline to provide information and assistance.
They have been monitoring the situation, Swarup said. The spokesperson had earlier said that 11 pilgrims from the Haj Committee of India and 4 from Private Tour Operators were injured. Thousands of pilgrims, including hundreds of Indians, have already arrived in Mecca for haj. Saudi authorities have ordered a probe into the incident.

Following is the list of dead/injured Indian Haj pilgrims in the Mecca Mosque accident issued by the Indian Consulate here.  Pilgrims killed  1. Moniza Ahmed West Bengal  2. Muameena Ismail Kerala
Pilgrims injured  1. Md Rafique Sheikh Maharashtra  2. Yasmeen Bee Sheikh Maharashtra  3. Ghulam Sarwar Punjab  4. Abdul Aziz Madhya Pradesh  5. Anwar NeyazUttar Pradesh  6. Mujeeb ShaikTelangana  7. Abdul Salam Osmani Assam  8. Farhana Parween Bihar  9. Md Hasan Ali West Bengal  10. Sabira Begum AnsariDelhi  11. Tawassul Husain AnsariDelhi  12. AkbarunUttar Pradesh  13. Naushad Anjum AnsariMaharashtra  14. Azaz Noor KhanUttar Pradesh  15. SK Liyakat Hossain West Bengal  16. Safar BeeTelangana  17. Mohammed Yonous Telangana  18. Abdul Majid Rahman Madhya Pradesh  19. Jaleelur RahmanMadhya Pradesh.