Phase 3 of Bihar polls to start tomorrow

Tuesday, Oct 27, 2015,10:38 IST By Metrovaartha A A A

Patna | After a brief festival break, the high voltage fight between the Grand Secular Alliance and the National Democratic Alliance (NDA) returns to Bihar with the third phase of voting on 50 Assembly seats tomorrow. 

Voting on the 50 seats would be keenly watched across the country as it would witness battle of ballots in Mahua and Raghopur from where the two sons of Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) president Lalu Prasad are in the field. This round of polling also covers Lalu Prasad’s political turf Saran, which has ten Assembly seats and the seven-seat Nalanda, the home district of Chief Minister Nitish Kumar.
The 50 seats in the third phase are spread across Patna, Vaishali, Saran, Nalanda, Buxar and Bhojpur districts. Additional Chief Electoral Officer R Lakshamanan said a total of 1.45 crore electors are eligible to decide the fate of 808 candidates, 71 of whom are women. Of the total 14,170 polling stations, 6,747 have been declared as critical and 1,909 as Left Wing Extremist hit polling stations.
All the booths would be manned by central forces and live webcasting would be done from 716 polling stations. Besides Tej Pratap Yadav and Tejaswi Yadav, the two sons of Lalu Prasad, other prominent politicians whose fate would be decided in this round are Bhartiya Janata Party (BJP) leader Nand Kishore Yadav (Patna Sahib), ministers Shyam Rajak and Shrawan Kumar from Phulwari and Nalanda seats respectively, Deputy Speaker Amarendra Pratap Singh (Ara) and BJP’s chief whip in the state Assembly Arun Kumar Sinha (Kumhrar).

Latest News

Sensex hits 35,000 mark as IT stocks lead gains

Wednesday, Jan 17 , 2018 ,11:13 IST