Saina, Sindhu to be in action in 12th SAG Badminton

Wednesday, Jan 27, 2016,13:46 IST By Metrovaartha A A A

Shillong | World’s top-ranked players Saina Nehwal, PV Sindhu and a host of renowned shuttle’s have been named to represent the country in the upcoming 12th SAG scheduled to be held here, officials said.

In a release by Dr Akhilesh Das Gupta, President BAI and Chairman GTCC, listed the players, which includes Saina, Sindhu, Parupalli Kashyap, Kidambi Srikanth, HS Prannoy, Ajay Jayaram.

The team championship for men and women will be held on league basis on February 6 and 7. The semi finals and the finals will be held on February 8.

The individual events, men’s singles and doubles, women’s singles and doubles and mixed doubles will be held on February 9 and 10.
Eight men’s teams and seven women’s teams are participating in the team event.

The squad:

Mens singles: Parupalli Kashyap, Kidambi Srikanth, HS Prannoy, Ajay Jayaram, Women’s singles: Saina Nehwal, PV Sindhu, Ruthvika Shivani, PC Thulasi

Men’s doubles: Manu Atri-Sumeeth Reddy, Pranaav Jerry Chopra-Akshay Dewalkar
Women’s doubles: Jwala Gutta-Ashwini Ponnappa, Sikki Reddy-K Maneesha Coaches: Tan Kim Her, Vijaydeep Singh, Amrish Shinde, Ravikanth Singla.