Muslim League releases first list of candidates for Assembly polls

Friday, Mar 4, 2016,10:10 IST By metrovaartha A A A

Malappuram | Indian Union Muslim League, the second largest partner in the ruling Congress-led UDF in Kerala, has released its first list of 20 candidates for the upcoming Assembly polls in the state. IUML is the first party in Kerala to release a list of candidates.

Party President Panakkad Hyderali Shihab Thangal released the list of 20 candidates at a press conference here Thursday. All five ministers of IUML in the present ministry–P K Kunhalikutty, M K Muneer, P K Abdu Rabb, V K Ebrahim Kunju and Manjalamkuzhi Ali–found a place in the list.

However, four sitting MLAs–M P Abdussamad Samadani, K N A Khader, C Moyinkutty and K Muhammedunni Haji — are not contesting this time. The party has not announced the names for four more Assembly segments which it is contesting. They are Kuttiyadi, Kunnamangalam, Eravipuram and Guruvayur.