C M Dinesh Mani not to contest from Thrippoonithura

Saturday, Mar 26, 2016,13:00 IST By metrovaartha A A A

Kochi | Proposed CPM candidate CM Dinesh Mani has reportedly informed party leadership that he is not interested to contest from Thrippoonithura Assembly constituency.

His withdrawal is said to be due to local opposition over his candidature. Posters protesting the former Kochi Mayor’s name in candidates’ list had appeared in many places earlier.

Young CPM leader M. Swaraj is touted as Dinesh Mani’s replacement.

Excise Minister K. Babu is the sitting MLA in Thrippoonithura.

Prof. Thuravoor Vishwambharan is the BJP candidate there.