Antony, Kenyem administered oath as Rajya Sabha members

Monday, Apr 4, 2016,17:22 IST By Metrovaartha A A A

New Delhi | Congress veteran A K Antony re-elected to Rajya Sabha from Kerala and Naga Peoples’ Front leader K G Kenyem, who was elected unopposed from Nagaland, were today administered oath as members of the Upper House by its Chairman Hamid Ansari.

They took the oath in the chamber of Ansari in Parliament House. Other leaders, who have been re-elected or elected to Rajya Sabha recently are Deputy Leader of Congress in Rajya Sabha Anand Sharma from Himachal Pradesh, CPI-M’s Jharna Das (Baidya) from Tripura, JDU’s M P Veerendra Kumar and CPI-M’s Somaprasad K from Kerala and Ranee Narah and Ripun Bora of Congress from Assam.

The eight seats had fallen vacant due to the expiry of terms of the seven sitting members while in Nagaland death of NPG Khekiho Zhimomi on November 26 last year warranted the election.

Latest News