Cabinet sub-committee to visit Paravoor for follow-up action

Wednesday, Apr 13, 2016,12:32 IST By metrovaartha A A A

Thiruvananthapuram | A Cabinet sub-committee has been formed to take follow-up action in the aftermath of the Paravoor fireworks explosion.

The committee consisting of ministers Shibu Baby John, Adoor Prakash and VS Shivakumar will visit the accident spot tomorrow, and take stock of the losses and hazards incurred due to the explosion, Chief Minister Oommen Chandy said at a news conference after Cabinet meeting Wednesday.

Deserving people who suffered losses due to the explosion will be given compensation, he added.

The ministers will meet local residents, assess health hazards and other casualties, and submit a report to the government.

The CM said the government will provide protection to two children – Krishna and Kishor — whose parents died in the accident by bringing them under the Snehapoorvam scheme.

Government will provide assistance for completing the construction of their house, and will pay the outstanding amount of the loan taken for the same.

Oommen Chandy said demand for the Home Minister’s resignation by CPM leader Kodiyeri Balakrishnan is unfortunate, and asked what the need for resignation is.

The Chief Minister did not give clear answer to the question regarding Kollam District Collector’s report blaming the police authorities for their failure to prevent the unauthorized fireworks display in Paravoor Puttingal temple.

He told reporters that the current priority is on identification of dead bodies through DNA test, and tracing the missing people.

Meanwhile, DGP TP Senkumar has informed Advocate General of his stand that a complete ban on fireworks display is necessary.