Odd-even : Govt to have new buses services on Delhi-NCR routes

Wednesday, Apr 13, 2016,10:54 IST By Metrovaartha A A A

New Delhi | Seeking to facilitate public transport during the second phase of the car-rationing scheme, Delhi government has planned additional bus services which include three new routes connecting the capital to Noida and Gurgaon and 16 shuttles to bordering areas on ring roads.

DTC operates its buses on 555 routes across the national capital and the city government has decided to ply additonal buses on 346 routes during the odd-even plan thar begins from April 15.

Addressing a press conference here, Transport Minister Gopal Rai said the government has made three special routes which include Noida Sector 62 to Dhaula Kuan via AIIMS, Karol Bagh to Gurgaon ISBT via Dhaula Kuan and Uttam Nagar to Gurgaon via Dwarka.

On the route of Noida Sector 62 to Dhaula Kuan, Delhi Transport Corporation (DTC) will ply 50 buses while Karol Bagh-Gurgaon ISBT route will have 37 buses.

On Uttam Nagar-Gurgaon route, 28 buses will be plied, he said. The minister said people from Delhi going to Gurgaon and Noida and vise versa can use these three bus services, adding, commuters can also interchange at Dhaula Kuan to go to Noida and Gurgaon. People, who live in Noida, going to Gurgaon can interchange at Dhaula Kuan to reach their destination.

During the first phase of odd-even scheme, it was a demand from most people to run special buses up to Gurgaon and Noida. In view of that, government has decided to introduce these new bus services, he said.

Rai further said the government has also made nine points on Delhi’s Ring Roads on which DTC will start 16 special-route shuttle bus service connecting bordering areas of the capital following which people can travel from other states to various areas of Delhi and vice versa. T

hese sixteen routes include Azadpur Terminal-Singhu Border, Wazirpur Depot-Qutab Garh, Raja Garden-Najafgarh, Mandi House-New Seema Puri, Mori Gate-Bhajanpura, Mori Gate-Anand Vihar, GTB Nagar-Nathu Pura and Najafgarh-Kapashera.