Scrutiny of nomination papers begin in Kerala

Saturday, Apr 30, 2016,11:28 IST By Metrovaartha A A A

Thiruvananthapuram | The Election Commission today began scrutiny of nomination papers filed by 1,647 candidates contesting from 140 constituencies in Kerala for the May 16 Assembly polls.

Chief Minister Oommen Chandy, CPI(M) veteran V S Achutanandan, CPI(M) Polit bureau member Pinarayi Vijayan, former Union minister O Rajagopal and former Indian cricketer Sreesanth are among those in the fray.

While Chandy is contesting from Puthupally for the 11th time in a row, 93-year-old Achutanandan is trying his luck once again from Malampuzha and Vijayan from Dharmadam.

BJP state president Kummanam Rajasekharan is making his electoral debut from Vattiyoorkavu. The last date for withdrawal is May 2.