Assam Assembly Election 2016 : BJP-led NDA ahead in 83 of the 126 seats in Assam

Thursday, May 19, 2016,9:06 IST By Metrovaartha A A A

Guwahati | NDA continued to march ahead in Assam, leading in 83 of the total 126 Assembly seats, where counting is underway. While BJP is leading in 55, its ally AGP is ahead in 15 and Bodoland Peoples Party in 12. Congress, which was seeking to be returned for the fourth straight term, is leading in 27.

BJP chief ministerial candidate Sarbananda Sonowal and outgoing chief minister Tarun Gogoi are both leading in Majuli and Titabar Assembly constituencies. AIUDF leader Badruddin Ajmal is trailing in his South Salmara seat. Independents are ahead in six and CPI(M) in one seat. Congress dissident leader Himanta Biswa Sarma, who had joined BJP is leading in Jalukbari. But another prominent BJP candidate Pawan Singh Ghatowar, a former Union minister, is trailing in Moran.

AGP leader Prafulla Kumar Mahanta, former two-time chief minister, is leading in Baharampur while his party’s working president Atul Bora is ahead at Bokakhat. Congress candidate and minister of the outgoing cabinet Rakibul Hussain is trailing at Samaguri as is also Ajanta Neog, also a minister, at Golaghat. Speaker of the outgoing Assembly Pranab Gogoi is leading in Sibsagar.