LDF ministry in Kerala to be sworn in on May 25

Saturday, May 21, 2016,12:03 IST By metrovaartha A A A

Thiruvananthapuram | The new CPI (M)-led LDF government, headed by party leader and Politburo member Pinarayi Vijayan, will be sworn in on May 25.

“We have planned to hold the function on May 25 in the evening at the Central stadium here”, Chief Minister-designate Vijayan told reporters after a brief meeting with CPI (M)’s senior most leader V S Achuthanandan at the latter’s official residence at Cantonment house here Saturday. The LDF would meet tomorrow to discuss matters related to ministry formation, Vijayan said when asked about the nature of the new Ministry.

A smiling Vijayan met 92-year Achuthanandan for a brief while and said, Achuthanandan is the last party leader who held the post of Chief Minister and has the experience. So it is important to understand various matters from him. CPI-M yesterday elected Vijayan as the Chief Minister candidate of the LDF at its state secretariat and state committee meeting.

LDF romped to power with 92 seats pushing the Congress led UDF to 47 seats in the 140-member Assembly, where BJP opened its account with a single seat.