Latest News

Jaya restructures AIADMK apex team

Wednesday, Jun 8, 2016,16:44 IST By Metrovaartha A A A

Chennai | AIADMK supremo and Tamil Nadu Chief Minister Jayalalithaa today restructured the party’s apex body, retaining trusted loyalists, including Finance Minister O Panneerselvam, and dropping several office-bearers.

Jayalalithaa, who will continue in the numero uno position as general secretary, has retained veteran leader E Madhusudhanan as presidium chairman. The changes were announced in a party release. The new team consists of 38 members.

The top team that was announced last year well ahead of the assembly polls comprised 41 functionaries. While Panneerselvam will continue as party treasurer, Lok Sabha Deputy Speaker and veteran leader M Thambidurai will continue as party’s propaganda secretary and Visalakshi Nedunchezhiyan would stay on as organising secretary.

Senior leaders C Ponnaiyan and Panrutti S Ramachandran, who were organising secretaries, will now be among the official spokespersons besides CR Saraswathy, MaFoi Pandiarajan and others. A key minister in the previous AIADMK tenure and Dindigul district party secretary, Natham R Viswanathan, was relieved of his party position.

He lost in the May 16 polls from Aathur. Dindigul Mayor V Marutharaj will now be the district secretary.

Similarly, Women’s wing secretary Gokula Indira has been replaced by Rajya Sabha MP Vijila Sathyanand. Also, the AIADMK chief has replaced party headquarters secretary and former minister P Palaniappan with PWD Minister and Salem strongman Edappadi K Palaniswamy.

Notably, she has dissolved the party disciplinary and petitions (consideration) committees besides the posts of assembly constituency party secretaries and joint secretaries in all the 234 constituencies.

Panneerselvam, former key ministers Natham R Viswanthan, R Vaithilingam and Edapadi K Palanisamy were part of the disciplinary committee before it was disbanded.