UGC puts on its websites list of unrecognised institutions

Friday, Jul 1, 2016,12:30 IST By Metrovaartha A A A

New Delhi | The UGC today released on its website a list of 22 self styled, unrecognised institutions which it claimed were functioning in contravention of the UGC Act. In a public notice on ‘Fake Universities’ posted on its website, it said that section 23 of the UGC Act prohibits the use of word University by institutions other than established by norms.

Among the institutions named by the UGC in its notice were Maithili University/Vishwavidyalaya, Darbhanga (Bihar), Varanaseya Sanskrit Vishwavidyalaya, Varanasi (UP), Commercial University Ltd Daryaganj (New Delhi), United Nations University, Delhi and Vocational University, Delhi.

Some other institutions named in the UGC notice include ADR-Centric Juridical University, Rajendra Place, New Delhi, St John’s University, Kerala, Uttar Pradesh Vishwavidyalaya, Kosi Kalan, Mathura. UGC informed that these institutions have been declared as ‘Fake Universities’ are not entitled to confer degrees.