CPM wins in Tripura, TMC in Bengal, BJP in MP by-polls

Tuesday, Nov 22, 2016,12:58 IST By metrovaartha A A A

New Delhi | Parties retained their sitting seats in bypolls held to Loksabha and various Assembly constituencies, except in Tripura, where the ruling CPI-M took an Assembly seat from Congress.

CPI-M in Tripura won the two Assembly seats, Barjala (SC) and Khowai, by defeating Congress and TMC candidates respecitively. CPI-M candidate Jhumu Sarkar trounced his nearest BJP rival Shistamohan Das by a margin of 3,374 votes in Barjala (SC) constituency. CPI-M secured 15,769 votes, while BJP garnered 12,395 votes. By-poll in the constituency was necessitated due to the resignation of Congress MLA Jitendra Sarkar in June last. Congress secured only 804 votes, while Trinamool Congress (TMC) 5,629 votes.

In Khowai constituency, CPI-M candidate Biswajit Datta trounced his nearest TMC candidate Manoj Das by a margin of 16,047 votes. CPI-M secured 24810 votes and TMC 8763 votes. The seat fell vacant due to death of CPI-M MLA Samir Deb Sarkar, a veteran party leader. The opposition Congress candidate, who secured 13859 votes in the last Assembly elections in 2013, secured only 696 votes in this election.

TMC candidate Saikat Panja won Benga’s Monteswar Assembly bypoll defeating his nearest CPIM rival Md Osman Gani Sarkar by 1,27,127 votes.

Dibyendu Adhikari of TMC is leading over his CPIM rival Mandira Panda in Tamluk Loksabha seat by over 2.5 lakh votes. In Coochbehar, Parthapratim Roy of TMC is leading over his BJP rival Hemchandra Burman by 1.2 lakh votes.

BJP retained Nepanagar Assembly seat in MP with party nominee Manju Dadu winning by a margin of 42,198 votes.

Puducherry Chief Minister V Narayanasamy was elected from Nellithope Assembly seat.