Mohammed Riyas elected DYFI’s new President

Monday, Feb 6, 2017,10:46 IST By joji A A A

Kochi | The All India conference of Democratic Youth Federation of India (DYFI) today elected the Organisation’s Kerala leader P A Mohammed Riyas as its new president.

The conference, which concluded here, also re-elected Avoy Mukherjee from West Bengal as the General Secretary of the organisation, DYFI leaders said here.

Riyas, who contested the previous Lok Sabha polls from Kozhikode constituency, was working as the all India joint secretary of the DYFI which has a strong base in states including Kerala, Tripura and West Bengal.

He replaced CPI(M) MP in Lok Sabha, M B Rajesh, who vacated the president’s post of the youth organisation owing to the age factor.

Balbir Parasar is the treasurer.

The conference also elected an 83-member central committee.