Sasikala chief of AIADMK Parliamentary Board

Thursday, Mar 9, 2017,17:58 IST By anju A A A

Chennai | The AIADMK Parliamentary Board was today reconstituted, with party General Secretary V K Sasikala, replacing her predecessor late J Jayalalithaa as its head.

The Board chooses AIADMK’s candidates for elections and the shuffle comes on a day when the Election Commission announced byelection to the RK Nagar assembly constituency on April 12.

The poll was necessitated by the demise of Jayalalithaa in December last year.

AIADMK Deputy General Secretary, TTV Dinakaran, made the announcement in a party release, which was issued with the “approval” of Sasikala.

“The Parliamentary Board has been reconstitued,” with Sasikala as it Chairperson, he said even as he also was appointed as one of the members.

The others in the reconstituted Board include AIADMK Presidium Chairman and School Education Minister KA Sengotayan and former Minister P Valarmathi.

The previous Parliamentary Board headed by Jayalalithaa included expelled party leader and former Chief Minister O Panneerselvam and his aide E Madusudanan.