N Sreeprakash BJP candidate in Malappuram bypoll

Saturday, Mar 18, 2017,10:45 IST By joji A A A

New Delhi | The BJP Friday announced candidates for bypolls to assembly seats in six states and one Lok Sabha constituency in Kerala.

The party has fielded N Sreeprakash from Malappuram, the seat, which fell vacant after demise of former Union Minister and Indian Union Muslim League President E Ahamed last month.

The party has also fielded Gangai Amaran from the R K Nagar constituency in Tamil Nadu, a seat that had fallen vacant after the demise of J Jayalalithaa, former Chief Minister of the state.

Apart from Tamil Nadu, candidates have been fielded for assembly by-polls to two seats each in Madhya Pradesh and Karnataka and one seat in Himachal Pradesh, Rajasthan and West Bengal.