Nine candidates in fray for Malappurm LS bypoll      

Monday, Mar 27, 2017,18:13 IST By anju A A A

Malappuram/Kerala | A total of nine candidates, including nominees of the UDF, LDF and NDA, are in the fray for the April 12 bypoll for the Malappuram Lok Sabha seat in Kerala.

Nominations of seven contestants, including the dummy  candidates of the three fronts, were rejected during scrutiny.
according to sources at the election cell of Malappuram district collectorate. 
Besides the official nominees of the Congress-led UDF, ruling LDF spearheaded by CPI-M, and NDA, six independents are contesting the polls, the sources said.
Today is the last date for withdrawal of nominations.
IUML National General Secretary, P K Kunhalikutty is  seeking election as the UDF nominee, while DYFI leader M D  Faizal is candidate for the ruling LDF.

BJP-led NDA has fielded N Sree Prakash.
Kunhalikutty, a former state minister, is the sitting MLA representing Vengara segment in Malappuram district.
The bypoll has been necessitated following the death of  former Union Minister E Ahamed in February, this year.