Kerala retains National Athletics title with last day medal surge

Wednesday, Jul 19, 2017,11:20 IST By joji A A A

Guntur | Kerala has won overall championship as the 57th National Inter State Athletics ended on a high note at the Acharya Nagarjuna University ground here Tuesday.

In all, Kerala won 11 gold, 8 silver and three bronze medals to stay on top of the table with 159 points in the four-day meet.

It was the southern state’s ninth consecutive overall crown.

In overall team rankings, Tamil Nadu (110) finished at second position and Haryana (101) on third.

Kerala’s best performance came on the last day, with its athletes winning four gold, six silver and one bronze medal.

Merlene Joseph became the fastest woman of the meet winning 100 meters in 11.65 seconds.

Anilda Thomas won gold in women’s 400 meters.

Lixi Joseph finished first in Heptathlon while her twin sister Nixi came second.

Kerala women’s team, consisting of Anilda Thomas, R. Anu, V.K. Vismaya and Jerrin Joseph, romped home with gold in 4×400 meters relay.

In men’s 4×400 meters rlay, Kerala team finished second.

Anu R (Kerala) finished the championships as the best women athlete with 1105 points while Davinder Singh Kang (Javelin Throw, Punjab) was the top athlete among men with 1127 points.

Siddhanth Thingalaya created a new Meet Record to win the Men’s 110m Hurdles in 13.76s.

Ajay Kumar Saroj once again proved his mettle by winning the Men’s 1500m run with a timing of 3:45.88. The 20-year old from UP has already qualified for the World Championships, thanks to his gold medal winning performance at the Asian Championships last month.

He was followed by Kerala’s Jinson Johnson (3:46.30) and Haryana’s Manjit Singh(3:49.30).

West Bengal’s Lili Das claimed another medal by winning the Women’s 1500m event in 4:28.00. The youngster has previously bagged the 800m gold. Kerala’s P U Chitra (4:28.87) and Pramila Yadav (4:29.33) of UP were second and third, respectively.

Bhupinder Singh of UP clinched the Men’s Hammer Throw event with a 64.81m effort. Andhra’s Neeraj Kumar, who holds the current National Record, had to settle for silver with a 64.73m throw. Sukhdev Singh (61.41m) of Haryana was adjudged third.

Uttarakhand’s Pradeep Singh Choudhary won the Men’s 10k run with a timing of 30:19.36. The Maharashtrian duo of Ranjeet Kumar Patel (30:30.59) and KalidasHirave(30:37.94) were in second and third place, respectively.

The Men’s Triple Jump event was won by Arpinder Singh of Haryana with a 16.34m jump, though he could not improve upon his 2014 Meet Record. Kerala’s Abdulla Aboobacker (16.30m) and SanalScaria (15.79m) were also on the podium.

Latest News